Repuzhyntsi mausoleum and church in a historical post card
Repuzhyntsi village is located on the Dniester's right bank, several kilometers East of Khreshchatyk in Zastavna District. The village was founded in 1353 by the local landlord Askold Repuzhynetsky. Later the village fell to decay due to Tatar attacks and revived in 1772.
Before the World War II Repuzhyntsi was famous for its nicely looking castle palace of the local landlord, and today this ancient village is well-known for its Gothic-styled mausoleum and the stone Pokrova church made in the style of Ancient Rus and Bukovyna with XVIII-century paintings and distinctive bell tower made of stone and wood.
Pokrova church is dated 1791 and features ship shapes. The church walls have no ornaments and are half-meter thick. The few windows look rather like balistraria, which is an evidence of structure’s defensive nature.
The upper part of the entrance to the bell tower located North-West of the church bears the date and the name of Basile de Marko, its founder whose face can be seen on interior wall paintings. Church exhibits include unique items and books, in particular, several gospels older than 100 years written in Old Church Slavonic and the gospel in Latin kept in the church altar.
The church territory has several crosses under which priests are resting and the family vault of its founders.
A car trip from Chernivtsi by H10 followed by E85 will make up to 65 km.
Mausoleum's frontal view
Repuzhynetskys' coat of arms
Entrance to Pokrova church
A lateral view
The church behind its fence
Church's bell tower
Bell tower's top
Repuzhyntsi on Google Maps