Khreshchatyk monastery on the Dniester banks
Zastavna District is located North of Chernivtsi, between the Prut and the Dniester. The District territory is 618 square kilometers, which is 7.6 % of the Oblast's territory. The District borders on Khotyn and Novoselytsa Districts in the East, Kitsman District in the West, Ivano-Frankivsk Oblast in the North-West and Ternopil Oblast in the North, where the Dniester serves as a natural border.
Panorama of Zalishchyky (Ternopil Oblast) from the right Dniester bank (Zastavna District)
The District's administrative center is the town of Zastavna. Its name is connected with the history of Galitia-and-Volyn principality. Zastavna means a town placed "za stavami" (Eng. "behind the ponds") on the trade road heading from the ancient town of Vasyliv to Chernivtsi in the upper part of the Sovytsya River. The District's economy is mainly based on agriculture and fishery.
The central square of Zastavna
Coat of arms of Zastavna District
For many years a unique grey heron colony settles on the Dniester slopes near Babyn village. The colony includes 99 nests placed on 26 oaks at the height of 12-18 meters.
A grey heron
On the right bank of the Dniester River, near Balamutivka village, there is the Balamutivska cave, a geological monument of national significance. Rock paintings of the Mesolithic era (about 12 thousand years ago) were discovered in the cave. The paintings display the beliefs of Stone Age people.
Entrance to the Balamutivska cave
The village of Vasyliv is one of the former settlements of Galician Rus. It is an annalistic village on the banks of the Dniester river. According to archaeological findings, there was a village at the place of today's Vasyliv in the II century. A trade road along the Dniester passed through this settlement. Historical sources mention a hill on the top of which there was Vasylivski cathedral built in 1230. The cathedral was 35 meters high and was remaining there for 500 years, having ceased its existence in the second half of the XVII century. The remains of the cathedral have great historical value as it was one of the most distinguished temples known in Ukrainian lands. Wide research of archaeological monuments of ancient Vasyliv is reflected in the exhibits of Chernivtsi museum of local lore.
Entrance to Vasyliv
A historical cross in Vasyliv
This is what remained from the cathedral's foundation
The village of Vaslovivtsi is the homeland of Eugen Hackmann, the first metropolitan of Bukovyna (1793-1873). Thanks to him, the self-dependent Bukovynian canonical Orthodox branch was existing for 70 years. A cathedral and the metropolitan's residence in Chernivtsi were built under his patronage. The village is also famous for the Berda mountain, which is the highest point not only of the Khotyn height, but of the entire Eastern European Plain as well. The name of the mountain comes from the name of a detail of a loom ("berda"), as the place’s appearance resembles one.
The Berda mountain on the horizon
The village of Vikno is famous for its park, which is a monument of garden and park art. The park was founded in 1860 and occupies the area of 2.7 hectares. There are 28 types of trees in the park with such rare types as ginkgo and plane tree among them. There are three 180-250 year-old oaks and a chestnut alley. This park has scientific, cultural and aesthetic significance.
Baron de Zotte's palace in the Vikno park
There is a military cemetery on one of the hills near Zvenyachyn village. 11,830 soldiers and officers of Austro-Hungarian, German and Russian armies who died in battles of 1914-1918 are buried there. The cemetery was first organized during the World War I.
The military cemetery in Zvenyachyn
There is a natural geological monument, the unique three-storied Pionerka cave in Dovhiy Yar tract next to Pohorilivka village. The cave is a rare case of a vivid example of nine out of eleven stages of karstic process development. The length of the explored part is 377 meters. This unique natural monument is a labyrinth of rare beauty.
Entrance to the Pionerka cave
Khreshatik village is famous for its holy spring that has existed here for a long time. During the night of Ivan Bogoslov holiday the spring irradiates. Some cases of curing different illnesses connected with the healing water from the holy spring have been noted. There is a cross, erected near the spring, as well as a chapel and a temple in honor of St. Ivan Bogoslov. The temple was built in the 1860s and still exists.
St. Ivan (John) Church in Khreshchatyk
Monk cells beneath Khreshchatyk monastery
Zastavna on Google Maps