Bukovyna (Ukrainian: Буковина/Bukovyna; Russian: Буковина/Bukovina; Romanian: Bucovina; German and Polish: Bukowina) is a historical region on the northern slopes of the North-Eastern Carpathian Mountains and the adjoining plains. It is currently split into North and South Bukovynas between Ukraine and Romania.


The name Bukovyna came into official use in 1775 with the region's annexation from the Principality of Moldavia to the possessions of the Habsburg Monarchy, which became Austrian Empire in 1804, and Austro-Hungary in 1867.


The official German name, die Bukowina, of the province under the Austrian rule (1775–1918) was derived from the Polish form Bukowina, which in turn comes from the common Slavic form Bukowina denoting the beech tree (бук [buk] as, for example, in Ukrainian, or even Buche in German). Another German name for the region, das Buchenland, is mostly used in poetry, and means "beech land", or "the land of beech trees". In Romanian, in literary or poetic contexts, the name Ţara Fagilor ("the land of beech trees") is sometimes used.


During the Middle Ages, the region was the North-Western triens of "Ţara de Sus" (Upper Country in Romanian), part of the Moldavian Principality, as opposed to "Ţara de Jos" (Lower Country). The region has become the cradle of the Moldavian Principality and remained its political center until 1574 when its capital transferred from Suceava to Iaşi.


Nowadays in Ukraine this name is informal but is commonly used referring to Chernivtsi Oblast as over 2/3 of the Oblast's area is the northern part of Bukovyna. In Romania the term North Bucovina is sometimes synonymous to the entire Chernivtsi Oblast of Ukraine, and (South) Bucovina refers to Suceava County of Romania. (Note: Currently 10% of the Suceava County covers territories outside of the historical Bukovina.)


In English, an alternate form is The Bukovina, increasingly an archaism, which, however, can be found in older literature.

For now, this website mostly focuses on North Bukovyna, which is commonly identified with Chernivtsi Oblast.

Coat of arms of Chernivtsi Oblast

Coat of arms of Chernivtsi Oblast, Ukraine

Flag of Chernivtsi Oblast

Flag of Chernivtsi Oblast, Ukraine

Chernivtsi Oblast is an administrative territory of Western Ukraine bordering on Romania and Moldova. It has a large variety of landforms: the Carpathian Mountains and picturesque hills at the foot of the mountains gradually transform to a broad partly forested plain located between the Dniester and Prut rivers. Its capital is the city of Chernivtsi. The region has a population of 913,275 (as of May 2004) and spans 8,100 km².


The Oblast covers an area of 8,097 km² being the smallest oblast in Ukraine representing 1.3% of the country's territory.


Chernivtsi Oblast has 75 rivers longer than 10 kilometers. The largest rivers are the Dnister (290 km stretch), Prut (128 km) and Siret (113 km).


Chernivtsi Oblast covers three geographic zones: a forest steppe region between the Prut and the Dnister rivers, a foothill region between the Carpathian Mountains and the Prut and a mountain region known as the Bukovynian part of the Carpathian Mountains.


Chernivtsi Oblast borders on Ivano-Frankivsk Oblast, Ternopil Oblast, Khmelnytskyi Oblast, Vinnytsia Oblast, Romania, and Moldova. Within the Oblast the national border of Ukraine with Romania extends for 226 km, and with Moldova for 198 km.


The Oblast has 11 administrative districts.

Chernivtsi Oblast on Google Maps

Flag Counter